May 5, 2015

Aroostook farmer reelected to Farm Credit East board

File Photo / Courtesy Farm Credit East
File Photo / Courtesy Farm Credit East
Daniel Corey, an Aroostook potato farmer, says the Farm Credit System plays a key role in supporting Maine's natural resource-based industries.

Daniel J. Corey, an Aroostook County potato farmer and owner of a diversified agricultural business, has been reelected to a four-year term on Farm Credit East's board of directors.

Farm Credit East is a customer-owned agricultural cooperative and part of the nationwide Farm Credit System, which is celebrating 99 years of service to American agriculture. Farm Credit East serves Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York and Rhode Island. The organization had more than $633 million loan commitments throughout Maine as of last year, supporting hundreds of agricultural projects.

Corey is owner of Daniel J. Corey Farms in Monticello and is one of three members from Maine serving on the farmer-owned cooperative's board, whose makeup reflects the diversity of the Northeast agriculture and forest products industries.

Also elected to four-year terms on the board of directors:

• Henry L. Huntington, of Loudon, N.H., was elected to a 4-year term. Henry is president and CEO of Pleasant View Gardens Inc., a 14-acre wholesale greenhouse operation.

• Laurie K. Griffen was re-elected to a 4-year term. Along with her husband Steve, Laurie co-owns and operates Saratoga Sod Farm Inc., a 600 acre turfgrass farm in Stillwater, N.Y.

• Peter Call, of Batavia, N.Y., was elected to a 4-year term. Peter is president of My-T Acres Inc., an 8,500-acre vegetable and grain operation.

In addition, the board appointed Tim Chan of Claremont, N.H., former senior vice president and chief financial officer of Ocean Spray Cranberries Inc., to serve as an outside director..

At its April 29 meeting, the board re-elected Andrew Gilbert of Potsdam, N.Y., as its chairman and Matthew Beaton of Wareham, Mass., as vice chairman, of a five-member executive committee that includes Corey, Richard Janiga of East Aurora, N.Y., and Laurie Griffen of Stillwater, N.Y.

The full Farm Credit East board includes 14 stockholder-elected directors and three appointed directors who bring additional skills and capabilities to the boardroom. Joining Carey on that board from Maine are Henry E. McPherson of Hermon and Donald P. White of Bangor.

Read more

Farm Credit East merger seen as beneficial to Maine farmers, loggers, commercial fishermen


Type your comment here:

Today's Poll Should lawmakers pass the 'retail workers' bill of rights?'<>
Most Popular on Facebook