February 6, 2019

Senate confirms five more Cabinet nominees

The Maine Senate on Tuesday confirmed five more of Gov. Janet Mills' cabinet nominees, approving the commissioners of the departments of Health and Human Services; Public Safety; Corrections; Education; and Professional and Financial Regulation.

Each of the nominees confirmed had earned favorable committee votes last week. Approved by the Maine Senate were:

  • Jeanne Lambrew, Department of Health and Human Services.
  • Michael Sauschuck, Department of Public Safety.
  • Randall Liberty, Department of Corrections.
  • A. Pender Makin, Department of Education.
  • Anne Head, Department of Professional and Financial Regulation.

The nominees will immediately assume their duties. The Governor's Office will hold a public swearing in ceremony for cabinet members in the coming weeks, after the anticipated confirmation of her remaining cabinet nominee, Amanda Beal, for the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry.

The committee confirmation hearing for Beal, who grew up on a dairy farm in Litchfield and is an expert in agriculture and sustainability, will be held Feb. 14 at 1 p.m. before the Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Joint Standing Committee in Cross Building, Room 214.

Mills released the following statement following the confirmations on Tuesday: "These five public servants, including two distinguished military veterans, are experts in health care, education, public safety, the criminal justice system and more," she said. "I am pleased the Senate has recognized their wealth of experience, knowledge, and qualifications and confirmed them to their positions. I look forward to working with the Legislature to confirm the remaining nominee and, with a complete cabinet, beginning our shared work on behalf of the people of Maine."


Type your comment here:

Today's Poll Would you support a $250 million R&D bond, spread in $50 million increments over five years?<>
Most Popular on Facebook