February 20, 2019

Final nominee approved, Mills’ Cabinet now complete

Courtesy / Office of Gov. Janet Mills
Courtesy / Office of Gov. Janet Mills
Amanda Beal, president and CEO of Maine Farmland Trust, was unanimously approved by the Maine Senate to lead Maine's Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry. Her confirmation rounds out Gov. Janet Mills' 15-member cabinet.

The Maine Senate unanimously approved Amanda Beal to lead the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry.

Beal's confirmation rounds out Mills' 15-member cabinet, which includes eight women, three distinguished veterans and four commissioners who have resumed their former cabinet positions.

"I am pleased the Senate has confirmed Amanda to serve as our next Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry," Mills said in a statement following Monday's Senate vote. "With her immense talents, knowledge and experience, she will be an excellent leader for the department and will assemble a team of committed public servants who are good listeners and have a lot of common-sense and a bit of dirt under their nails. I look forward to working with Amanda in the years to come."

Beal, 46, grew up on a dairy farm and earned a bachelor of arts degree from the University of Southern Maine. She holds a master's degree in agriculture, food and environment from Tufts University and is working on her doctorate in natural resources from the University of New Hampshire.

Beal lives in Warren, where she and her husband own a 35-acre farm and are working to establish an orchard with numerous fruit varieties, manage their 25-acre woodlot and establish a creamery for on-farm cheese production.

"After a 14-member search committee worked to recruit the most qualified and well-respected Mainers, I am honored the Senate has confirmed all of my cabinet nominees," Mills said. "They are experienced individuals who will help usher in an era of new leadership in Maine. From lowering the cost of health care to addressing our workforce shortage, there are many challenges facing our state — but with these challenges also comes the opportunity to chart a new and better course. With the cabinet now in place, I look forward to working with them on behalf of the people of Maine."

Here are the members of Mills' cabinet:

Amanda Beal, Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry

Jeanne Lambrew, Department of Health and Human Services

Michael Sauschuck, Department of Public Safety

Randall Liberty, Department of Corrections

A. Pender Makin, Department of Education

Anne Head, Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

Kirsten Figueroa, Department of Administrative and Financial Services

Bruce Van Note, Department of Transportation

Laura Fortman, Department of Labor

Heather Johnson, Department of Economic and Community Development

Judith Camuso, Department of Inland, Fisheries and Wildlife

Gerald Reid, Department of Environmental Protection

Patrick Keliher, Department of Marine Resources

Maj. Douglas Farnham, Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management

John Rohde, Workers' Compensation Board.

Mills will hold a ceremonial swearing-in for members of her cabinet in the Cabinet Room today at 4 p.m.


Type your comment here:

Today's Poll Would your company offer to pay employees’ college loans up to $5,250 tax-free annually if Congress passes this bill?<>
Most Popular on Facebook