Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

Updated: July 10, 2024

University Credit Union opens Augusta branch

University Credit Union branch in Augusta. Photo / Courtesy, University Credit Union University Credit Union has opened a branch at 67 Sewall St. in Augusta.

University Credit Union has opened a branch in Augusta, the Orono-based institution’s first brick-and-mortar location in central Kennebec County.

The new full-service branch is at 67 Sewall St., in a former Dunkin’ Donuts drive-through. The company declined to disclose the value of its investment or the contractors involved in the project.

“Augusta is a natural fit to connect UCU across the state,” Renee Ouellette, the credit union’s president and CEO, told Mainebiz via email. "It’s a community we have considered for some time and the convenience of this central location allows for us to best serve our members in a local capacity with their financial needs.”

University Credit Union, established in 1967 mainly to serve Maine's academic workers, was ranked Maine’s sixth-largest credit union in the 2024 Mainebiz Book of Lists. Rankings were based on total assets as of Sept. 30, 2023.

UCU’s Augusta branch will be staffed by two-full-time employees, including branch manager Bryan Doby, who was promoted from his previous role as a senior member services representative in Portland.

“Opening our first branch in Kennebec County is a significant milestone for UCU,” Ouelette said in Monday’s announcement. “We look forward to becoming an integral part of the Augusta community and building lasting relationships with our members here.”

A noontime ribbon-cutting ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, July 23, kicking off a three-day open house for members of the public.

'Continuously evaluating opportunities'

Renee Ouellette of University Credit Union
File photo
Renee Ouellette

UCU's Augusta branch opening comes on the heels of the credit union's merger with Hampden-based Changing Seasons Federal Credit Union, which took effect on July 1.

Earlier, this year, UCU converted to a community charter in order to grow geographically. The change expanded UCU’s field of membership to include residents and businesses in Androscoggin, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot, Somerset, Waldo and Washington counties. 

Those communities are in addition to the groups already served by UCU including the University of Maine System, Maine Maritime Academy, the Landing School, Northeast Technical Institute and the Maine Consumer Council.

Asked about UCU's plans for further branches in Kennebec County, Ouellette said, "We are continuously evaluating opportunities to expand our reach to current and future membership and to welcome more communities to experience UCU.”

Sign up for Enews

Related Content


Order a PDF