Feds declare five Maine counties disaster areas

BY Staff


Disaster areas have been declared in Cumberland, Androscoggin, Oxford, Sagadahoc and York counties by the USDA due to the ongoing drought.
But the conditions stretch far beyond southern Maine, as the U.S. Drought Monitor said in its latest report that 80% of the state's populations from York County eastward to parts of Washington County are being affected by moderate to extreme drought. In total, the organization is reporting that 1,058,848 Mainers are estimated to be experiencing drought conditions.
"This is one of the worst droughts in recent memory," U.S. Rep. Chellie Pingree said in a statement. "Unless farmers had access to significant water for irrigation, they probably didn't have a very good growing season. The disaster declaration makes emergency loans available for those who were hit the hardest so they can recover and get another crop in the ground next spring."