January 23, 2018

Mainebiz accepting nominations for Business Leader of the Year awards

Did your business, large or small, have a great year in 2017? If so, and you believe that the stellar performance stems from outstanding leadership at the top, Mainebiz would like to hear from you.

Nominations are now open for the Mainebiz Business Leader of the Year awards. Deadline for submissions is Jan. 31. To complete the online nomination form, go here.

Each year, Mainebiz recognizes three business leaders for outstanding performance under three categories: Large company (50-plus employees), entrepreneur / small company and nonprofit. We consider the following criteria in our selections:

  • The nominee is the CEO or executive director at his/her company or organization.
  • The nominee's company or organization has experienced a significant accomplishment in 2017 and/or celebrated a major milestone. Examples of this are building a new facility, introducing a new product, receiving a major industry award, setting a revenue record, making a major acquisition, successfully navigating a major change/shift in their business or celebrating a big anniversary.
  • The nominee and his/her company operate in a socially responsible manner and is active in community service.
  • The nominee is innovative and shows creativity in business.

Last year we recognized WEX President and CEO Melissa Smith in the large business category; Carmen and Bob Garver, founders and owners of Wicked Joe and Bard Coffee, in the small business category; and David A. Greene, president of Colby College, in the nonprofit category.

Award-winners in 2016 were Rodney McCrum, president and CEO of Pineland Farms Potato Co. (large), whose sales grew by 38% the previous year to $50 million; Joshua Davis, CEO of Gelato Fiasco (small business), which doubled its sales over the previous year; and Danielle Ripich (now retired), then-president of University of New England, who had overseen more than a decade of tremendous growth at UNE.

This year's Mainebiz Business Leader of the Year awards reception will be held on May 3, from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., at Portland Country Club, 11 Foreside Road, Falmouth.


Type your comment here:

Today's Poll Do you support a continuation of the Pine Tree Development Zone program?<>
Most Popular on Facebook