Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

May 14, 2018

Finalists selected for Aroostook's '2018 Entrepreneur of the Year'

Ten finalists for the Aroostook Partnership’s Entrepreneur of the Year competition have been selected and the top three will be revealed at the annual dinner and awards ceremony in Presque Isle on May 24.

An eight-member panel of judges, representing post-secondary education, business and economic development officials, narrowed the field of 13 nominees down to 10.

The finalists are, in alphabetical order of business name:

  • Michelle Hersey, County Environmental Engineering
  • Pierre and Donna Dubay, Cove Corner Kennels
  • Paul Morgan, Dodos/Access 89 Pub
  • Traus Jandreau, David Saucier, Travis Guy, Rod Lahren and Matt Deprey, First Mile Brewery
  • Michelle Hanson, Frederick’s Southside/Mascato
  • Loryn Moran, House of Handsome
  • Tina Boucher, Interior Accents
  • Scott Nash and Alan Nash-Pelletier, Orchids
  • Rick and Cassie Daigle, Too Far North
  • Jim Bell, Wired Houlton.

The winner will receive a plaque and a check for $1,000. Second and third runners-up will receive $500 and $250 respectively.

Aroostook Partnership President and CEO Robert Dorsey said the finalists represent businesses from the St. John Valley to Houlton and include longtime businesspeople and relative newcomers to the business world.

“It’s always amazing to see the variety of nominees each year and this year was no exception,” said Dorsey. “It is wonderful to see the number of new business starts and new ideas that are happening in the County.”

Previous winners include David Harbison of Bison Pumps in Houlton; Matt Bell of Northeast Pellets in Ashland; Northern Maine Distilling’s Jessica Jewell and Scott Galbiati (formerly of Houlton); Troy Haney of Haney Building Specialties in Caribou; Corey LaPlante of Northern Prosthetics in Presque Isle; Josh McLaughlin of J. McLaughlin Construction in Houlton; the Buck Family of Mapleton for the Maine Malt House; and Josh Rich of JL Rich Timber Harvesting.

The finalists and winner will be celebrated May 24 at the Edmunds Conference Center at Northern Maine Community College.

Sign up for Enews


Order a PDF