Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

Updated: October 18, 2023

From Hollywood to hockey, 29 celebrities plan to tee up at Maine charity golf tourney

Former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo, Major League Baseball Hall of Fame pitcher John Smoltz, and TV and film actor Robbie Amell will join a host of other celebrities in next year’s Drive Fore Kids charity golf tournament, the organizer announced.

Three men
Photos / Courtesy of Drive Fore Kids
The Drive Fore Kids celebrity lineup in 2024 will include, from left, former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo, actor Robbie Amell and MLB Hall of Fame pitcher John Smoltz.

Over two dozen athletes, actors and TV personalities, many of whom are making a return appearance, plan to compete for a $250,000 prize purse, helping raise funds for the Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital. The event will take place at the Falmouth Country Club from June 20-23, 2024.

“Our inaugural tournament was a home run, thanks to the great atmosphere created by the celebrities, who interacted with the fans and made for a memorable weekend,” said Brian Corcoran, the tournament’s executive director and CEO of Portland’s Shamrock Sports & Entertainment.

Corcoran, who was honored on the Mainebiz Next List in 2016, launched the Drive for Kids tournament after the PGA Tour pulled the plug on Falmouth as a stop on the Korn Ferry pro golf circuit. 

When the topic of crying came up at last week's Mainebiz CEO Breakfast Forum, Corcoran admitted to being moved to tears over organizing the tournament to benefit the Barbara Bush Children's Hospital.

Based at Maine Medical Center in Portland, the hospital logs more than 100,000 annual patient visits, offering services in cancer treatment, cardiology, neonatal care and other pediatric specialties

2024 tournament lineup

Organizers unveiled the 2024 tournament lineup Tuesday. The list includes: 

  • Robbie Amell, TV and film actor known for his roles in "The Babysitter, "The Flash," Amazon Prime’s "Upload," and "The DUFF," for which he was a Teen Choice Award nominee;
  • Rondé Barber, former Tampa Bay Buccaneers cornerback, five-time Pro Bowl player, Super Bowl champion, soon to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame;
  • Vince Carter, eight-time NBA All-Star, 22-year NBA veteran and current NBA analyst on ESPN;
  • Roger Clemens, 11-time MLB All-Star, two-time World Series champion, and seven-time Cy Young winner;
  • Vinny Del Negro, former NBA player and coach of the Chicago Bulls and Los Angeles Clippers;
  • Patrick Dempsey, actor, race car driver and Lewiston native who founded the Dempsey Center;
  • Mike Eruzione, captain of the 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team that defeated the Soviet Union in the “Miracle on Ice” game, in which he scored the game-winning goal;
  • Doug Flutie, Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from Boston College with a 21-year pro career;
  • Robbie Gould, 18-year NFL veteran placekicker, including six seasons with the San Francisco 49ers after 11 seasons with the Chicago Bears;
  • Michael Goulian, aerobatic champion aviator;
  • Noelle Lambert, track and field Paralympian;
  • Derek Lowe, 2004 World Series champion with the Boston Red Sox;
  • Kevin Millar, World Series champion with the Boston Red Sox, host of MLB Network’s "Intentional Talk;"
  • Mike Modano, member of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame;
  • Blair O’Neal, retired golf pro;
  • TJ Oshie, Washington Capitals hockey player;
  • Michael Peña, film actor;
  • Chad Pfeifer, U.S. Army veteran who learned the game of golf while rehabbing in an Army hospital; 2011 National Amputee Golf champion and three-time Warrior Open champion;
  • Tuukka Rask, 15 seasons as goalie for the Boston Bruins, including one Stanley Cup championship, Vezina Trophy winner, Olympic bronze medalist (Finland);
  • Jeremy Roenick, member of NHL’s 500 Goal Club, nine-time NHL All-Star, 2002 Olympic silver medalist;
  • Tony Romo, former Dallas Cowboys quarterback;
  • Ronnie Russell, award-winning pro bowler; 
  • Sterling Sharpe, three-time NFL First Team All-Pro; five-time Pro Bowl wide receiver; member of the Green Bay Packers and College Football Halls of Fame;
  • Harrison Smith, NFL safety for the Minnesota Vikings, six-time Pro Bowl player, two-time All-Pro ;
  • John Smoltz, MLB Hall of Fame pitcher, World Series champion with the Atlanta Braves, Cy Young winner, eight-time MLB All-Star;
  • Jack Sock, men’s tennis, former No. 8 singles player and No. 2 doubles player in the world, 2016 Olympic gold and bronze medalist, current top pickleball player;
  • Jeremy Swayman, Boston Bruins goalie;
  • Kathryn Tappen, sports broadcaster; and 
  • Jack Wagner, TV actor whose credits include the Hallmark Channel's “When Calls the Heart."

More information 

Information about tickets and sponsorship packages is available here.

Sign up for Enews

Related Content


Order a PDF