Processing Your Payment

Please do not leave this page until complete. This can take a few moments.

Updated: December 13, 2022

Governor's awards cite 4 Maine businesses for ‘excellence’

Briana Warner in kelp facility File Photo / Tim Greenway Briana Warner, CEO of Atlantic Sea Farms and a winner of a Governor's Awards for Business Excellence.

Four Maine companies in sectors from seaweed to solar are winners of the 2022 Governor's Awards for Business Excellence. The honorees were recognized at a Monday ceremony at the Blaine House in Augusta. 

Two guys in office with computers
Owen McCarthy, left, and Brian Harris, co-founders of MedRhythms Inc.

Two of the winners are led by Mainebiz Next awards alumni — Atlantic Sea Farms, led by 2020 Mainebiz Next list honoree Briana Warner, and MedRhythms, a Portland-based digital therapeutics startup co-founded and led by 2018 Mainebiz Next list honorees Brian Harris and Owen McCarthy. Harris is the company's CEO, while McCarthy serves as president.

In the latest Governor's Awards for Business Excellence, Atlantic Sea Farms received the Heritage Industry Award, which recognizes business excellence in the agriculture, forestry, manufacturing or marine sectors.

MedRhythms, which is developing a pipeline of digital therapeutics using music and technology across a range of neurological conditions, including stroke, multiple sclerosis and Parkinson’s disease, received the Innovation Award. That award honors business excellence through entrepreneurship and innovation.

Central Maine Motors
Chris Gaunce, owner of Central Maine Motors

Among the other honorees, Central Maine Motors in Waterville received the Rural Revitalization Award, which recognizes contributions to the revitalization and growth of Maine’s rural regions, while Portland-based startup Dirigo Solar received the Climate Leader Award. 

Since 1991, the annual Governor's Awards for Business Excellence has recognized and celebrated Maine businesses with a high level of commitment to their community and employees, as well as exemplary performance in the manufacturing or service profession.

Photo / Tim Greenway
Nick Mazuroski, co-founder and director of Dirigo Solar

“This year’s award recipients are creating innovative new technologies, strengthening our rural communities, creating new opportunities in our heritage industries and helping our state combat climate change,” Gov. Janet Mills said. “They are shining examples of the countless Maine businesses, entrepreneurs, and employees that make our state the best place to live, work, and start a business. I congratulate each recipient on this well-deserved honor.”

Heather Johnson, commissioner of the Maine Department of Economic & Community Development, noted that the annual awards has become one of Maine's most prestigious business recognition award programs.

"I congratulate each of this year’s award recipients and look forward to following their continued contributions to Maine people and the Maine economy,” she said.

Sign up for Enews

Related Content


Order a PDF